WWA Info Exchange

For Woodworkers By Woodworkers
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:59 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 10:14 pm 
Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 3983
Location: Rolling Meadows, IL. USA
As I've been surfing the Internet there has been a lot of talk about auto start for dust collectors.
The simplest solution I can come up with is using a current sensing relay, they are used to run humidifiers and electronic air cleaners. They can be used to run a relay to run the dust collector and can be hooked up in parallel on mutable equipment. They are available in two control voltages 24vac (Aprilair #50) or 110vac (Aprilair #50) they are limited to 1/2 amp load. there are other brands available.

_________________
"It is not a mistake it is a learning experience"
Monte


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 10:26 pm 
Offline
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:01 am
Posts: 4735
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Hey Monte,

The problem that I see with auto start for DC, is that if you are a one man shop, starting and stopping a number of machines, you will be putting a lot of heat soak load on your DC motor. The motor generates a lot of heat during start up, and requires a minimum run time to cool it down, if it doesn't get it before the next start up, the heat builds up (heat soak) and will damage the motor.

I suppose that you could include a shut off delay that assures a minimum run time, but I generally prefer a remote manual switch, so that I can answer the door, the phone, or my wife as needed. A delay would keep the DC running after the shutoff signal until the minimum run time, and that could be inconvenient. A remote requires that you pay attention to the duty cycle, but it also allows more flexibility.

My 2ยข,
Tom

_________________
"There is no path to peace, peace is the path."
Mohandas K. Ghandi
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:47 pm 
Offline
Veteran

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 1:01 am
Posts: 578
Location: Shorewood, WI, USA
An alternative to either automatic or remote switching is to simply run a lot of switches so there's one mounted close to each work area. I used a relay switched with a 12V coil (Digikey carries such power relays switched at whatever voltage you want. I don't recall which I used) The 12 V signal then switches the 240V power to turn on or off the 3HP DC.

There are explanations on the web showing how to wire multiple switches so that flipping any of them can turn it either on or off. It's a little trickier if you have more than two switches, but not much.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:54 pm 
Offline
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:01 am
Posts: 4735
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Hey Alan,

It seems to me that the cost and effort required to install a number of parallel (or three way) switches would certainly exceed that of a garage door remote, a receiver and one relay. I have a loop of bright pink surveyor's tape tied to mine so that I can easily find it, if it's not in my pocket. :wink:

Cheers,
Tom

_________________
"There is no path to peace, peace is the path."
Mohandas K. Ghandi
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group