WWA Info Exchange

For Woodworkers By Woodworkers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2019 10:17 pm 
Veteran

First I’m a pretty experienced woodworker. I’ve done a fair amount of cabinet finishing over the years. So for the longest time my wife has wanted me to build this knock-it-out-of-the-park custom kitchen..and this time she wanted me to finish all the pieces in an off white color. So for the past 8 weeks I cut, routed, sanded this huge pile of rough lumber and turned my efforts into more double and triple raised panel doors and fluted profiles than one could imagine. Then after a 60/40 dewaxed shellac coat and light sanding I sprayed every piece with an eggshell water base latex paint. I gave everything 2 coats. The pieces looked so beautiful and totally pristine. So now I was ready to spray my first coat of clear on. I have always liked General Finishes ‘High Performance waterbase clear in a flat finish. I bought it at my local Woodcraft store. I had always assumed that waterbase clear did not yellow as a solvent clear will. So I sprayed all pieces with the first coat. Again the next day the pieces looked even more beautiful. And the clear did not change the off white base color at all. That was until about 2 days later. Now several areas on most pieces have turned a urine yellow! It’s not 100% but it sorta random. I’m devastated. The cabinets went from pristine beautiful to darn ugly. At this point there is so much work in this project (and $$). I’m not sure how to save it. If there is anybody out there who have ever experienced this and maybe knows of a clear topcoat that won’t react this way...I sure could use your advice. Thank you for any help.

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2019 1:33 am 
Veteran